2017 BCSS Boys’ Basketball Championship

March 12, 2017 by  
Filed under Provincial and Territorial News

2017 BCSS Boys’ Basketball Championships




Gr 8 Boys’ Burnaby South over C & G Howe 58-55 St Georges over Tamanawis 53-48
Gr 9 Boys’ Vancouver College over Lord Tweedsmuir 77-74 Burnaby South over St George’s  52-36
Jr Boys’ Burnaby South over Sir Charles Tupper 58-46 North Delta over West Vancouver 53-42
A Sr Boys’ BC Christian Academy over Kelowna Christian 68-63 Heritage Christian over Ron Pettingrew Christian 93-86
AA SR  Boys’ Brentwood College School over St Michaels University School 54-44 King George over G.W. Graham 88-44
AAA SR  Boys’ Rick Hansen over South Kamloops 69-63 Bodwell voer Byrne Creek 73-69
AAAA Sr Boys’ Walnut Grove over Kelowna 78-65 Holy Cross voer Oak Bay 58-46

Boys’ A Championship

A Champions: BC Christian Academy

MVP: Harry Oghomienor B.C. Christian Academy

Championship Player of the Game: Zack Kuzyk B.C. Christian Academy
Defensive Player of the Tournament: Quentin Onyemordi B.C. Christian Academy
Most Sportsmanlike Team: Northside Christian
Coaching Award: Gib Hinz B.C. Christian Academy
First All Star Team
Garrett Tower Ron Pettigrew Christian
Lance Gavino Ron Pettigrew Christian
Sam Bell Heritage Christian
Cody Dowell B.C. Christian Academy
Carter Martins Kelowna Christian

Boys’ AA Champship

AA Champions: Brentwood College School
MVP: Bruno Chan Brentwood College
Championship Player of the Game: Brendan Sullivan Brentwood College
Best Defensive Player: Aaron Shulga Brentwood College
Most Sportsmanlike Team: Nechako Valley
Coaching Award: Blake Gage Brentwood College
First All Star Team
Gabe Mannes G.W. Graham
Yoel Teclehaimanot King George
Jamison Shulz-Franco St. Michael’s University School
Brendan Sullivan Brentwood College
Ryan Hindson St. Michael’s University School

Boys’ AAA Championship

AAA Champions: Rick Hansen
MVP: Josh Dhillon, Rick Hansen
Championship Player of the Game: Josh Dhillon, Rick Hansen
Best Defensive Player: Reid Jansen, South Kamloops
Most Sportsmanlike Team: Maple Ridge Ramblers
Coaching Award: Steve Tweele, Rick Hansen
First All Star Team
Yagiz Torer, Bodwell
Anders Cederberg, Nanaimo
Cameron Morris, St Thomas More
Nick Sarai, South Kamloops
Quin Adam, South Kamloops

Boys’ AAAA Championship

AAAA Champions: Walnut Grove
MVP: James Woods, Walnut Grove
Championship Player of the Game: Mason Bourcier, Kelowna
Best Defensive Player: Matt Williamson, Kelowna
Most Sportsmanlike Team: Vancouver College
Coaching Award: George Bergen, Walnut Grove
Most Inspirational Player: Noah Nickle, Yale
School Spirit Award: Walnut Grove
First All Star Team
Yagiz Torer, Bodwell
Anders Cederberg, Nanaimo
Cameron Morris, St Thomas More
Nick Sarai, South Kamloops
Quin Adam, South Kamloops

Grade 9


Grade 9 Champions: Vancouver College

2017 SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD Sir Charles Tupper Tigers

2017 GPA AWARD Lake Trail Lakers

2016 MVP AWARD Vancouver College #10 – Sahil Sandhu


Sahil Sandhu (Vancouver College Fighting Irish)
Jordan Bartram (Burnaby South Rebels)
Jeaeden Reid (Lord Tweedsmuir Panthers)
Jaxon Cohee (St. George’s Saints )
Callum Chow-White (Vancouver College Fighting Irish)


Champions: Burnaby South

Tournament MVP: Justin Sunga (Burnaby South)

Most Sportsmanlie Team:  Abbotsford Middle

Player of the Game for the Final: Jerab Pineda (Burnaby South)

First Team Allstars:

Eli VanHarent (St Georges)

Ekjot Mann (C&G Howe)

Jerab Pineda (Burnaby South)

Saim Bhutta (Tamanawis)

Jaydan Bains (C&G Howe)

Comments are closed.