BCSS 2017 Girls Volleyball Championships

December 3, 2017 by  
Filed under Provincial and Territorial News




A  Unity Christian School  Kelowna Christian  Stratford Hall
AA Langley Christian School St Thomas More Collegiate Mennonite Educational Institute
AAA Crofton House School Timberline Secondary School Little Flower Academy
AAAA Belmont Secondary School Handsworth Secondary School Earl Marriott Secondary School

Girls A Champion: Unity Christian School


Girls AA Champions:  Langley Christian School


AAA Girls Champions:  Crofton House School



AAAA Girls Champions: Belmont Secondary School








Most Sportsmanlike Team Pacific Christian Alberni


Most Outstandig Player Savannah Caterino-Leger, Langley Christian Jadyn Van Saten, Crofton House
Most Outstanding Libero Corina Beimers, Langley Christian Sand Arora, Crofton House
Best Server Brielle Bahnman, MEI

Provincial 1st  All-Star Team

Abby Wittenberg, Paciafic Academy

Janae Leger-Bruinsma, Langley Christian

Tegan Boughen, MEI

Hanna Kolof, York House

Cara Kovacs, West Point Grey

Elizabeth Bilawey, St Thomas More

Sarah McKilican, Isfeld

Jessica Goodridge, Little Flower Academy

Saje Jurpield, Timberline

Julia Kretzchmar, timberline

Shae Baker, Crofton House

Lianne Strother, Crofton House

Provincial 2nd  All-Star Team

Davida Hill, Pacific Academy

Jenna Van Roekel, Langley Christian

Danya Truscott-Pitt, Fulton

Sammi Lieuwen, Surrey Christian

Vanessa Gatto, St Thomas More

Christina Gragic, Notre Dame

Mahala Grewbac, NDSS

Dana Kievit, Seaton

Jacey Neid, Caledonia

Ashley Belasco, Little Flower Academy

Erin Buttnor, Isfeld

Sophia Johnson, Carihi





1st  Unity Christian School

2nd  Kelowna Christian School

3rd  Immaculata Regional High School

4th  Aberdeen Hall

5th  Cedar Christian School

6th  Fernie Secondary School

7th  Mount Sentinel School

8th  Duncan Christian School

9th  Chetwynd Secondary School

10th Vernon Christian School

11th Richmond Christian School

12th Aspengrove School

13th Credo Christian Schools

14th Stratford Hall

15th Carver Christian High School

16th Centennial Christian School

1st Langley Christinan

2nd St Thomas More Collegiate

3rd  Mennonite Educational Institute

4th  Pacific Academy

5th  York House School

6th  West Point Grey Academy

7th  Clarence Fulton Secondary School

8th  Notre Dame Regional Secodnary

9th  Surrey Christian School

10th Valleyview Secondary School

11th College Heights Secondary School

12th Brentwood College

13th Pacific Christian School

14th Nechako Valley Secondary School

15th Prince Charles

16th Charles Hays Secondary School





1st  Crofton House School

2nd  Timberline Secondary School

3rd  Little Flower Academy

4th  Mark R Isfeld Senior Secondary

5th  Carihi Secondary

6th  Calodonia Secondary

7th  W L Seaton Secondary School

8th  North Delta Secondary School

9th  Langley Secondary

10th Kelly Road Secondary School

11th Alberni District Secondary School

12th Windsor Secondary School

13th G W Graham Secondary School

14th L V Rogers Secondary School

15th Dawson Creek Secondary School

16th Hugh McRoberts Secondary

1st  Belmont Secondary School

2nd  Handsworth Secondary School

3rd  Earl Marriott Secondary School

4th  Semiahmoo Secondary School

5th  Lord Byng Secondary School

6th  Vancouver Technical Secondary School

7th  Mission Secondary School

8th  Seaquam Secondary School

9th  Lord Tweedsmuir Secondary School

10th Heritage Woods Secondary School



13th Mount Baker Secondary School

14th Moscrop Secondary School







Belmont Repeats as Provincial Champions  Posted on Dec 2, 2017 in Press Release

In front of about 600 loyal fans at the Langley Events Centre, the Belmont Secondary School Bulldogs repeated as AAAA BC High School Senior Girls Volleyball Provincial Champions.

The team was led by tournament MVP, Savannah Purdy winning in three sets, 25-12, 25-16 and 25-16 over the Handsworth Secondary School Royals. Purdy was also awarded the MVP in 2016’s win, making her a rare two-time winner of the award.

“Savannah was marvellous today, I’m going to miss coaching her so much,” Said Bulldogs head coach Mike Toakley as he celebrated the repeat with friends in the stands.

He also added that it was clear from the get go that Handsworth’s semi-final match earlier in the day against Earl Marriott took a lot of the Royals.

“From the get go it was clear that they (Handsworth) were not as strong as they normally would be,” Toakley said. “We’ve played them earlier this year, and we know how good they are when they’re fresh.”

The Bulldogs game plan was clear from the get go, as they tried to make Royals star player, Kayla Oxland, move as much as possible to keep her from setting the ball perfectly for the Royals attackers.

“She’s so fast and athletic,” Toakley said. “Anything you can do to get her off her game is going to help because she’s the straw that stirs that drink for sure.”

Long-time Royals head coach Tom Oxland didn’t make any excuses for the loss, saying the better team won today.

“Belmont played awesome,” Oxland said. “We’ve known all year if we play a bigger team then us and don’t win the serve-serve receive game, we’re probably going to lose.”

Two-time tournament MVP Savannah Purdy was ecstatic after the game as she celebrated with here teammates – the majority of the team has been playing together in school and club volleyball with the Victoria Chargers since Grade 8.

“Our goal today was to stay calm,” Purdy said. We’ve been playing together for a real long time, so we’re good at calming each other down when we’re on the court and playing our system as a team.”

She also added that her mom had hinted with a smile and nod in her mom’s direction that the team may be celebrating the victory at her house tonight, just as long as the make the seven-o’clock ferry home.

The Bulldogs also relied upon two other key players this tournament, Grade 12, Miranda Cyr and Grade 11, Taylee Pomponio. Both players were named First Team All Stars.

“I felt we were really in our element today and playing our best,” said Cyr, the team’s standout libero.

And next year’s Bulldogs team will be in good shape with both Taylee Pomponio and Second Team All Star Grace May returning to the team, along with Aspen Nemeth and Jocelyn Sherman.

“It’s real exciting,” Pomponio said grinning ear-to-ear. “We’re hoping to have a good team again next year with the four of us returning.”

Earlier in the day, Earl Marriott knocked off Semiahmoo, in two sets, 25-22, 25-22 for the Bronze Medal.

Comments are closed.