BCSS 2019 Girls’ Basketball Champions

March 3, 2019 by  
Filed under Provincial and Territorial News

2019 BCSS Girls’ Basketball Championships

Grade 9 McMath Abbotsford Traditional Heritage Park
Jr Girls’ Walnut Grove  Secondary School Fraser Heights Secondary School Mount Baker Secondary School
A Sr Girls’   Credo Christian SchoolsUnity Christian  Kelowna Christian School
AA Sr Girls’ South Kamloops Secondary School G W Graham Secondary School Langley Christian School
AAA Sr Girls’ Kelowna Secondary School Walnut Grove Secondary School Abbotsford Senior Secondary School
1 Robert A McMath Secondary School
2 Abbortsford Traditional
3 Heritage Park Middle School
4 Maple Ridge Secondary School
5 Seycover Secondary Community
6 Rober Bateman Secondary School
7 Sardis Secondary School
8 Heritage Woods Secondary School
9 Hugh Boyd Secondary School
10 Burnaby Mountain
11 Rick Hansen Secondary School
12  R C Palmer Secondary School
13 Handsworth Secondary School
14 G W Graham Secondary School
15 Dover Bay Secondary School
16 Quamichan School
Champions: Robert Alexander McMath Secondary School
Most Valuable Player: Tamar Gordon (McMath)

Best Defensive Player: Natalie Curley (Heritage Park)

Tournament All-Stars – Priya Sangha (ATSS); Ashleen Dhillon (ATSS); Isabella Vetter (Heritage Park); Madeline Hoffer (Heritage Park); Ella Todd (Maple Ridge); Paige Johnson (Maple Ridge); Teagan Ng (McMath); Kiayra Hohlweg (McMath); Maia Russell-Nelson (Seycove); Brianna Norman (Seycove)

Most Sportsmanlike Team: Quamichan Lightning
Jr Girls Participants
Argyle PipersM. E. I Eagles
Belmont BulldogsOkanagan Mission Huskies
Brookswood BobcatsPacidic Christian Pacers
Burnaby South RebelsRiverside Rapids
Claremont SpartansSa-Hai Sabres
College Heights CougarsSeaquam Seahawks
Duchess Park CondorsSir Winston Chruchill Bulldogs
Fleetwood Park DragonsSt Thomas More Collegiate Knights
Hazelton SpartansTerry Fox Ravens
Heritage Woods KodiaksW L Seaton Sonics
Kelly Road RoadrunnersYale Lions
Kelowna OwlsYour House Tigers

Champions: Walnut Grove Gators

Fraser Heights Firehawks

Top 10 Teams

1. Walnut Grove
2. Fraser Heights
3. Mount Baker
4. Yale
5. Burnaby South
6. North Surrey
7. Kelowna
8. Penticton
9 (Showcase Bracket Winner). Riverside
10. Brookswood

Most Valuable Player – Fania Taylor, Walnut Grove

Best Defensive Player – Summer Blackmore, Mount Baker

Championship Player of the Game – Fania Taylor, Walnut Grove

Most Sportsmanlike Team – Pacific Christian Pacers

First Team All-Stars
Kyleigh Boldt, Yale; Kiara Ker, Mount Baker; Teah Best, Fraser Heights; Neclam Rai, Fraser Heights; Holly Harrison, Walnut Grove

Second Team All-Stars
Marijke Duralia, St. John Brebeuf; Awek Deng, Burnaby South; Sara Uppal, North Surrey; ; Katrina Fink, Kelowna; Annete Cairnie, Walnut Grove

March 6 – 9, 2019
Girls 1A Participants
Agassiz Secondary
Bulkley Valley Christians
Charles Bloom Secondary
Credo Christian
Fernie Secondary
Glenlyon Norfold 
Grand Forks Secondary
Heritage Christian
Kelowna Christian
Khalsa Secondary
Nechako Valley
Pemberton Secondary
Sir Alexander MacKenzie
St Andrew’s Regional
Unity Christian
West Point Grey Academy

1st Team Allstars:
Kelowna Christian #3 – Naomi Kent; Credo Christian #13 – Esther Allison; Unity Christian #8 – Olivia Lounsbury; Unity #9 – Kylie Kampman; Nechako Valley #7 – Kennedy Andres

2nd Team Allstars:
St. Andrew’s #9 – Jaida Segato; Kelowna Christian #12 – MacKayla Sader; Nechako Valley #14 – Kalissa Brooks; Unity Christian #12 – Kirsten Kampman; Heritage Christian #19 – Grace Dietrich

Most Defensive Player: Credo Christian #11 – Rebekah Allison

Tournament MVP: Credo Christian #5 – Kari Stam

‘Barry Dearing’ Fair Play Award: Charles Bloom (Chosen by the officials)

Girls 2A Participants
Britanai Bruins
David Thompson Lakers
Duchess Park Condors
G. P. Vanier Towhees
G. W. Graham Grizzlies
Lambrick Park Lions
Langley Christian Lightning
Little Flower Academy Angels
Seycove Seyhawks
Smithers Gryphons
South Kamloops Titans
St Thomas Aquinas Fighting Saints
St Thomas More Collegiate Knights
Vernon Panthers
Westsyde Whundas
Whistler Storm

Champions: South Kamloops Titans

Image may contain: 10 people, people smiling, crowd

G.W. Graham Grizzlies

Top 10 Teams
1. South Kamloops
2. G.W. Graham
3. Langley Christian
4. St. Thomas Aquinas
5. Vernon
6. Seycove
7. St. Thomas More Collegiate
8. Britannia Bruins
9. Duchess Park
10. Lambrick Park

Most Valuable Player – Maddy Gobeil, South Kamloops

Most Outstanding Defensive Player – Deanna Tuchscherer, G.W. Graham

Championship Player of the Game – Olivia Morgan-Cherchas, South Kamloops

Championship Coach – Del Komarniski, South Kamloops

Most Sportsmanlike Team – Westsyde Whundas

School Spirit Award – Riverside Rapids

First Team All-Stars
Julia Tuchscherer, G.W. Graham; Hailey Van Roekel, Langley Christian; Makenna Gardner, Langley Christian; Kelsey Falk, Vernon; Deanna Tuchscherer, G.W. Graham

Second Team All-Stars
Jessica Clarke, St. Thomas Aquinas; Chelsea Bradshaw, Seycove; Olivia Morgan-Cherchas, South Kamloops; Surprise Munie, Britannia; Olivia Thorpe, St. Thomas Aquinas

Honourable Mentions
Gigi Gaspar, St. Thomas More Collegiate; Kendra McDonald, South; Kamloops; Gemma Cutler, St. Thomas Aquinas; Aliza Dueck, G.W. Graham; Ava Krepp, Langley Christian

Girls 3A Participants
Abbotsford Senior Panthers
Argyle Pipers
Brookswood Bobcats
Kelowna Owls
Lord Byng Grey Ghosts
Mount Baker Wild
Nanaimo District Islanders
North Peace Grizzlies
Okanagan Mission Huskies
R A McMath Wildcats
Riverside Rapids
Robert Bateman Timberwolves 
Royal Bay Ravens
Semiahmoo Totems
Walnut Grove Gators
Yale Lions

Champions: Kelowna Owls

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 8c50bcc42e84e61050b3a7272926cca4d6e12ea7-08e31437232cb4ad66f9df5bbecfc4f674ea604d.jpg

Walnut Grove Gators

Top 10 Teams

1. Kelowna
2. Walnut Grove
3. Abbotsford Senior
4. Semiahmoo
5. Brookswood
6. Riverside
7. Sullivan Heights
8. Argyle
9. Carson Graham
10. Oak Bay

Most Valuable Player – Taya Hanson, Kelowna

Most Outstanding Defensive Player – Sophia Wisotzki, Walnut Grove

Championship Player of the Game – Kennedy Dickie, Kelowna

Championship Coach – Darren Semeniuk, Kelowna

Most Sportsmanlike Team – Sullivan Heights Stars

First Team All-Stars

Sienna Lenz, Abbotsford; Izzy Forsyth, Semiahmoo; Kennedy Dickie, Kelowna; Natalie Rathler, Walnut Grove; Tavia Rowell, Walnut Grove;

Second Team All-Stars

Marin Lenz, Abbotsford; Jenna Dick, Brookswood; Jaeli Ibbetson, Kelowna; Faith Dut, Semiahmoo; Jessica Wisotzki, Walnut Grove

Honourable Mentions –Georgia Swant, Argyle; Tanis Metcalfe; Carson Graham; Georgia Alexander, Oak Bay; Jessica Parker, Riverside; Emma Kramer, Sullivan Heights

Comments are closed.