BCSS Subway Bowl 2017 Championships

December 3, 2017 by  
Filed under Provincial and Territorial News


 Gr 8  Notre Dame 32 over Lord Tweedsmuir12
AA Jr Varsity Vernon 36  over Ballenas 8
AAA Jr Varsity Lord Tweedsmuir 23 over Vancouver College 13
AA Tier 1 Windsor 44 over Abbotsford 29
AA Tier 2 Eric Hamber 28 over Spectrum 21
AAA New Westminster 15  vs Terry Fox 14


Grade 8 Champions: Notre Dame

AA JV Champions:
Vernon Secondary

AAA JV Champions: Lord Tweedsmuir Secondary

AA Tier 2 Champions: Eric Hamber

AA Champions: Windsor Secondary School

AAA Champions: New Westminster Secondary School



Windsor Dukes’ Ryan Baker has been every bit the touchdown maker this season for B.C.’s No. 1, undefeated AA team. On Sunday, Baker was named his tier’s 2017 MVP. (Varsity Letters photo by Howard Tsumura)

MVP Ryan Baker of Windsor tops the list of B.C. high school football’s AA provincial all-stars

Apologies for the confusion created earlier today when Varsity Letters’ jumped on the snap count and published the names of the B.C. high school football AA provincial all-stars.

With a green light from the big bosses, here’s the full list of offence and defence and Players of the Year.

Huge congratulations to all the players named for lifting their games to the top of the heap this season, and for those who continue on the journey, all the best at Subway Bowl Final 4 games this coming Saturday at B.C. Place Stadium!



Abbotsford Panthers’ Anthony Pham (left) was a standout on offence in Saturday’s quarterfinal win over Hugh Boyd, and a provincial all-star on defence. (Varsity Letters photo by Howard Tsumura)


Seaquam’s Tyson Philpot (centre) was picked B.C. high school Triple A MVP on Sunday. (Varsity Letters photo by Howard Tsumura)

Seaquam’s Tyson Philpot named AAA MVP; SD’s Calvert, STM’s Steele also honoured as part of provincial all-star team

The Dream Team of B.C. high school football’s largest tier was revealed Sunday by the B.C. Secondary Schools Football Association.

Leading the way was Seaquam Seahawks’ senior receiver/defensive back Tyson Philpot.

South Delta quarterback Michael Calvert was picked Offensive MVP while St. Thomas More tackle Sam Steele was named Defensive MVP.

Before, we give you the complete list of honourees on offence and defence, here’s a look at Michael Calvert of South Delta, the Offensive MVP:

South Delta Sun Devils’ quarterback Michael Calvert, the BC AAA Offensive MVP, felt the pressure at times Saturday from Lord Tweedsmuir, but still led his team into the Subway Bowl Final 4 next week. (Varsity Letters photo by Howard Tsumura)


Sam Steele (66) of the St. Thomas More Knights has toiled tirelessly in the trenches and become one of the biggest difference makers in all of B.C. high school football from his tackle spot. Here, he is pictured tackling Notre Dame’s Brice Pumares in STM’s Saturday evening win over Notre Dame at B.C. Place. On Sunday, he was named B.C. AAA Defensive MVP. (Varsity Letters photo by Howard Tsumura)

Comments are closed.