BDEC 5 on 5 Basketball Tournament Inuvik

February 13, 2017 by  
Filed under Provincial and Territorial News

13th Annual BDEC Regional Basketball Tourney @ E3SS                   Inuvik  Feb 3 and Feb 4, 2017


13th Annual 5 on 5 tournament!  The tournament is for ages 10 and up.

POOL A – Jr Girls/Boys, Elem Girls/Boys
POOL B – Jr Boys/Jr Girls/Sr Girls
POOL C – Sr Boys/Adults
2017 Dribble and Shoot Hoopesters Fort MacPherson


General Information

  • 128 Participants
  • 15  Teams
    • Inuvik (12)
    • Ft. McPherson (2)
    • Tuktoyaktuk (1)

 Pool 1…….Jr Girls, Jr. Boys, Elementary Boys and Girls

The teams in this pool played in a round robin over the weekend.  The signature game was the kick off of the tourney between the rainmakers and the wonder pets.  There was huge crowd on hand from the elementary school cheering on their fellow class mates.  It was a great way to start the tourney.     Pool Records are listed below.

Teams                          W-L

Dribble and Shoot       3-0

Rain Makers                2-1

E3SS Gr 7 & 8 Girls   1-2

Wonder Pets               0-3


Pool 2…..Junior Boys, Senior Girls, Adult Women Division

This division featured a five team round robin with the top two teams vying for the championship.  For the first time in several years two adult women’s teams entered the tourney as well.  The Hoopsters team went undefeated in round robin play.  The championship final saw the Hoopsters team defeat the Swish Team both from East Three secondary School by a score of 36 to 34.

Members of the championship Hoopsters team were: Lain Voudrach, Donovan Arey, Sam Skinner, Michael Ha, Parker Burns, Keegan Greenland, Keiron Clement

Teams                          W-L

Hoopsters                    4-0

Swish                          3-1

Huff and Puff             2-2

E3SS Sr. Girls             1-3

Dunkin’ Divas             0-4


Pool 3A and 3B ……..Sr. Boys and Adults division

In the largest pool of teams over the weekend, the  team of Tuk U went undefeated in Round Robin play.  However, they were upset in the semifinals by an upstart Monstars team from Inuvik  40-29.  The E3SS Sr. Boys team was also successful in round robin play only losing to the team from Fort McPherson by a score of 30 to 29.

The playoff championship game featured the Monstars and Fort McPherson.  The game went back and forth with Fort McPherson pulling away late.  The final score was 40-37.

Members of the Champion Fort Mcpherson team were: Les Blake, Doug Keevik, Ryan Faurchner, Ian Snowshoe, Stan Snowshoe, Sebastien Herbert-Andrews, Dean Charlie, , and Wade Karkagie.

A big thank you to our supporters…MACA, the Beaufort Delta Education Council, Sport North, and Basketball NWT.

Round Robin Records in Pool 3A

Teams                                                  W-L

Tuk U                                                  2-0

International All-Stars                                   1-1

CJS Wolverines                                   0-2

Round Robin Records in Pool 3B

Teams                                                  W-L

Sr. Boys E3SS                                                2-0

Monstars                                            1-1

Fort McPherson                                  0-2

Comments are closed.