MHSAA 2022 Cross Country Championship


Team Results

A-AAA JV Boys: Sanford Collegiate
A-AAA JV Girls:  Sanford Collegiate
A-AAA Varsity Boys: École Edward Schreyer School (Beausejour)
A-AAA Varsity Girls: Sanford Collegiate

AAAA JV Boys: St. Paul’s High School
AAAA JV Girls: Collège Miles Macdonell Collegiate
AAAA Varsity Boys: St. Paul’s High School
AAAA Varsity Girls: St. Mary’s Academy

JV AAAA – Collège Miles Macdonell Collegiate

JV AAAA – St. Paul’s High School
Varsity AAAA – St. Paul’s High School

Individual Results

JV Boys
Gold: Hartley Eldridge – École secondaire Oak Park High School
Silver: Draycen Ralph – St. Paul’s High School
Bronze: Nathan Dyck  – Carman

JV Girls
Gold: Izabella Mann – Collège Miles Macdonell Collegiate
Silver: Scarlett Regnander-Farrell – John Taylor Collegiate
Bronze: Olivia Penner – Steinbach Regional Secondary Shool

Varsity Boys
Gold: Blake Harris – Institute collègial Vincent Massey Collegiate (Winnipeg)
Silver: Benji Dueck – Morden Collegiate Institute
Bronze: Brady Kimball – Pilot Mound Collegiate

Varsity Girls
Gold: Cadence Christie – St. Mary’s Academy
Silver: Lena Klassen – Westgate Mennonite Collegiate
Bronze: Logan Harz – Springfield Collegiate Institute

Full Results click here

Epinette Creek Trail

The Provincial High School Cross Country Championship was held Tuesday in Spruce Woods Provincial Park. Sanford Collegiate captured the A-AA-AAA Junior Varsity Boys, Junior Varsity Girls and Varsity Girls banner. Nathan Dyck of Carman Collegiate finished third among JV boys while Benji Dueck of Morden was second in the varsity boys category.

The class of 2020 was inducted into the Manitoba Golf Hall of Fame Tuesday night at the St. Charles Country Club in Winnipeg. Eight-time Provincial Senior Women’s champion Rhonda Orr; former Southwood head professional Tom Kinsman and the late Brian Gilhuly, a long-time volunteer and Golf Manitoba board member who passed away in 2017 were inducted along with Steve Bannatyne, David Hill, Manfred Braovac and Ken Redfern who captured the 1967 Canadian Junior Boys Inter-Provincial Team Championship in Toronto. The Board of Directors of the Manitoba Golf Hall of Fame had to delay the 2020 induction ceremony until this spring because of COVID-19 restrictions.

Virden Oil Capitals forward Braden Fischer is a finalist for the Canadian Junior Hockey League’s Most Valuable Player Award. The 19-year-old Winnipeg product finished third in MJHL scoring with 74 points. Fischer was named the league’s MVP and was selected a First Team All-Star.

Forward Oceane Asham of Portage is among 40 players chosen to attend Hockey Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team selection camp from May 24th-29th in Calgary. The camp will be held at WinSport Arena at the Markin McPhail Centre and will feature a pair of intrasquad games on May 27th and 28th before the final roster is named for the 2022 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship, June 6th-13th in Madison and Middleton, Wisconsin.

The Winnipeg Ice dropped a 3-2 decision to the Moose Jaw Warriors. Zach Benson and Jack Finley did the goal scoring for the Ice who lead the Western Hockey League’s best-of-seven Eastern Conference semifinal two games to one. Warriors netminder Jackson Unger made 38 saves. Game four goes tonight in Moose Jaw.

It’s day one of Winnipeg Blue Bombers rookie camp. Todays practice session is from 10:30 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. at the Winnipeg Soccer Federation South Complex. Main training camp is scheduled to begin on Sunday depending on the ongoing collective bargaining discussions between the CFL and the CFL Players’ Association. The Blue Bombers first pre-season game is May 23rd against the Saskatchewan Roughriders in Regina.

The Winnipeg Goldeyes fell 7-2 to the Fargo-Moorhead Redhawks. Leobaldo Pina drilled a two-run homer in the top of the sixth inning and Peter Maris added a three-run shot in the seventh for the Redhawks. Max Murphy had a two-run double that tied the game at 2-2 in the bottom of the third for the Fish. The two teams meet again tonight at Shaw Park. The Goldeyes open the 2022 American Baseball Association season at home against the Redhawks on Friday.

Comments are closed.