MHSAA Awards Eight High School Sports Scholarships

June 1, 2019 by  
Filed under Canadian Sport Features

MHSAA Awards Eight High School Sports Scholarships

Image may contain: 5 people, people smiling, people standing and suit

Winnipeg, MB – The Manitoba High Schools Athletic Association presented one high school basketball scholarship and several high school hockey scholarships on Thursday. All schools from across Manitoba were invited to nominate individuals from their respective high school hockey and basketball teams.

The Garett Lee Sidor Memorial Scholarship is named after Garrett, who was a student athlete at Windsor Park Collegiate. Garett tragically passed away in May 2007, just a couple of months after his team, the Windsor Park Royals captured the Provincial “AAA” Basketball Championships, where he was selected as an all-star. Garrett was an all around athlete who participated in hockey, volleyball and basketball. Garett’s friends and family have come together to put a $750 scholarship in his name to be awarded to a male basketball player each year.

Daniel Pouteau of Prairie Mountain High School. Daniel was a starting defensive player for his basketball. He led the team to a 3rd place finish in the two tournaments that the team attended. Daniel is Student Council President and is involved in the school’s Justice Club. He played volleyball and helps out in the community at the local recreation centre and arena helping to setup for events. He encouraged the younger players to keep playing and inspired them to get better, while assisting at the elementary school with the youth basketball program. Daniel maintains an 82% academic average.

The Alexander Josephson Memorial Scholarship is awarded in honour of Alexander Josephson, a student at St. John’s Ravenscourt School, who tragically passed away in a car accident in 2005. Alexander was a member of the 2003 Provincial High School Hockey Championship team and was selected as a Provincial All-Star. The recipients of this scholarship are students who demonstrate strong leadership and team play, high scholastic standing, a hard working attitude and who are proceeding to a post secondary institution. Two high school hockey student athletes each receive a $2000 scholarship.

Teo Nocita of St. John’s Ravenscourt School. Teo maintains a 96% academic average. He led the Winnipeg High School Hockey League’s Winnipeg Free Press Division in points this past season. He led the Eagles to the league semi-finals, as well as receiving Player of the Game at several tournaments. Teo is a hard worker and is well respected by his peers. He is on the student council, coaches a rookie tournament team and volunteers for minor hockey day events at the school. Teo is a quiet leader and extremely hard worker who leads by example.

Cameron Tramley of Kelvin High School. Cameron maintains a 92% average. In addition to being the team’s alternate captain, he was selected to high school hockey’s “AAAA” all-star team. Cameron is a mentor for grade 9 students, a leader at the annual holiday breakfast, spirit week planner and plays U18 premier soccer for Bonivital. Cameron is also a member of Kelvin’s cross country and ultimate teams.

The Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame and Museum sponsors two awards, the Ken “Friar” Nicolson Award for a male high school hockey player and the Sami Jo Small Award for a female high school hockey player. Nicolson was the broadcaster for CJOB Radio for the Winnipeg Jets, and was a tremendous supporter of high school hockey. Sami Jo Small was an outstanding athlete at College Jeanne Sauvé in track and field and was the MHSAA’s athlete of the year in 1993 and is a member of the MHSAA’s High School Sports Hall of Fame. Sami went on to play for Canada’s National Women’s Hockey Team appearing in five Olympic Games, winning three gold medals. Each recipient will receive a $1000 scholarship.

The Sami Jo Small Award goes to Camryn Gillis of Miles Macdonell Collegiate. Camryn maintains a 93% academic average and was named an Athlete of the Month. She helped her team to first place in the B Division of the Winnipeg Women’s High School Hockey League. Camryn was also the assistant captain of the Winnipeg Avros AAA Hockey team. She is the Editor of the school’s yearbook and Senior Leader for the MMC Literary Magazine. She has assisted at Bantam A1 practices and is a Hockey Manitoba Girls Goalie Camp volunteer. She volunteers with the school’s Orphanage Committee, Christmas Child Boxes and with the John Henderson Leadership program.

The recipient of the Ken “Friar” Nicolson Award goes to Braden Hildebrand of W.C. Miller Collegiate.
Braden was team captain of the school’s hockey team and was a member of the all-star team. He helped lead his team to a Zone 4 Championship and an appearance in the high school hockey Provincials. Braden participates in baseball, volleyball, badminton and track & field, all while maintaining a 96% academic average. Braden also worked as a lifeguard and swim instructor at the local aquatic center and works with a student with osteogenesis imperfecta. Braden assists with a hockey skills club and peer tutored a hockey class for grade 9, 10, and 11 student athletes.

The D’Arcy Bain/Fred Stevenson Award is named in honour of long-time hockey coach Fred Stevenson of St. John’s Ravenscourt, and the $750 scholarship is sponsored by local physiotherapist D’Arcy Bain.

Ethan Yewdall of College Sturgeon Heights Collegiate. Ethan is an honour roll student and maintains an academic average of 96%. He is the team captain, a WHSHL all-star, a recipient of the Dave Hill Scholarship and the Travis Price Hockey Spirit Scholarship two years in a row. Ethan has participated in fundraising for “Sam’s Christmas” at the school, which provides families in need, in addition to numerous other fundraising events. He time keeps for St. Mary’s Academy’s Female World Sport School Challenge tournaments and Jackrabbits hockey programs at the local community centre.

The Winnipeg Jets Alumni and Friends Scholarships support high school hockey by presenting two $2,500 scholarships, one to a male and the other to a female student athlete. The criteria for this award includes on ice skills, as well as leadership in school and community.

Camryn Gillis of Miles Macdonell Collegiate maintains a 93% academic average. Camryn’s positive attitude and love for the game are unparalleled. She sees the positive side of every situation and the younger players look up to her. Camryn’s positive attitude, high level of play, and dedication contribute not only to her success but her team’s as well. She is the editor of the school yearbook, a member of Miles Mac’s Literary Magazine, she contributes to putting together Christmas shoe boxes, and volunteers at her younger brother’s hockey practices. Camryn also participates with Hockey Manitoba in their goalie development sessions as a shooter.

Ethan Yewdall of College Sturgeon Heights Collegiate. Ethan is the captain of his school’s high school hockey team. He led his team to their first WHSHL championship and a second place finish in the Provincial High School Hockey Championships. He was a Provincial all-star and a twice recipient of the Travis Price Award. He maintains an academic average of 95% and volunteers at Allard Arena, Sturgeon Heights Community Center, with his school’s craft sales, and tutors others in science and math. Ethan has participated in the MHSAA’s Captains Leadership Workshop and is a true leader who is looked up to by his peers.

Photo (L to R): Daniel Pouteau, Cameron Tramley, Ethan Yewdall, Teo Nocita, Camryn Gillis. Missing: Braden Hildebrand55

Comments are closed.