June 23, 2016 by  
Filed under Provincial and Territorial News

The Manitoba High Schools Athletic Association presented a number of awards on Monday, June 20th, at its annual general meeting which is being held in Portage La Prairie, Manitoba.

Scott Gurney of Lord Selkirk Regional School, Selkirk, Manitoba was presented with the Nick Laping Leadership award.  He has been teaching and coaching for 26 years.  He has served as a Provincial Track Meet director for the last 10 years and coaches track and cross country at Lord Selkirk.  He also serves on the MHSAA track advisory committee.  His teams have won Provincial Track banners for the last two years.  Scott received an MHSAA Certificate of Recognition in 2012

Marvin Gundrum of Prairie Mountain High School, Somerset, Manitoba was presented the Frank L. McKinnon Award for his outstanding volunteerism in high school sports.  Marvin is a 30 year teaching and coaching veteran, coaching all sports.  His school hosted many Provincials, and he has been very involved with each one.  Marvin has been a member of the MHSAA board of directors.  In recent years he has developed a very strong track program, capturing the “A” banner for the last two years, and has over five Provincial titles.  He received an MHSAA Certificate of Recognition in 2012.

The 2016 Grey Cup Legacy High School Coach of the Year, was awarded to Steve Densmore of Virden Collegiate.  Steve has been coaching for 30 years, with his main sports being Volleyball and Basketball.  He has won Provincial titles in both sports, and in 2014, his girls teams captured both “AAA” Volleyball and Basketball titles.  He received an MSHAA Certificate of Recognition in 1998.    Steve will receive a $2000.00 prize courtesy of the Grey Cup legacy fund.

Receiving Certificates of recognition for long time contribution to high school sports were, Steve Rebizant of Steinbach Regional, Tim Au from Miles Macdonell Collegiate, Jeff Beaudin of College Pierre-Elliot Trudeau, Lorne Warkentine from Garden Valley Collegiate, Trever Penner of Souris School, and Scott Martin from Shoal Lake School.

Approximately 130 Teacher coaches and administrators have been in Portage La Prairie, June 20 and 21 to discuss policies and philosophies pertaining to high school sports.

The Manitoba High Schools Athletic Association is a voluntary not for profit organization which is comprised of 193 Senior High Schools from across the Province. Over 30,000 student athletes and over 2,900 volunteer coaches are involved with the association.  The association receives funding through lottery dollars distributed through Sport Manitoba, Corporate Partners, Membership Fees, and other general revenue.

Comments are closed.