SCHOOL SPORT CANADA• SPORT SCOLAIRE CANADA

MHSAA Return to Play – Version 2

RETURN TO SCHOOL SPORT PLAN – Version 2 AUGUST 24, 2020

PREAMBLE

School sport has countless physical, mental, and emotional health benefits. As much as any other group or individual, the MHSAA wishes to see athletics return to the school setting. First and foremost, the safety of all involved with school sport is the priority of the MHSAA and directives from the Government of Manitoba, and Manitoba Health take precedence over any decision made at the MHSAA, school division or school. In accordance with the Government of Manitoba’s Restoring Safe Schools Guidelines and Restoring Safe Services – Sports Guidelines, the MHSAA’s Return to School Sport plan permits school sport to return in a controlled, modified, and flexible approach. It considers the varied opportunities and challenges of our Zones and member schools across Manitoba, who are in either an urban or rural setting.

It should be emphasised that this plan is current and fluid. The MHSAA will continue to re-evaluate and adapt as new information and guidelines become available, with the best interest of our student-athletes always in mind.

The MHSAA remains committed to protecting the health and safety of our student-athletes, staff, coaches, memberschools, and the health of all our fellow Manitobans.

RETURN TO SCHOOL SPORT APPROVAL

It is vital that before any Return to School Sport occurs, that you consult and obtain approval from your school division’s administration, or school administration for independent schools. Further, each school’s administration will be responsible to determine how Return to School Sport will be implemented in their building, ensuring all current Provincial Public Health Guidelines are followed and each sport specific Return to Play Protocol is being adhered to.

LEAGUE & EXHIBITION PLAY

The MHSAA will permit localized league and exhibition play provided that the Zone receives approval from their respective school division(s), or school(s) administration for independent schools. All current Provincial Public Health Guidelines must be followed and the sport specific Return to Play Protocol permits competition.

PROVINCIAL CHAMPIONSHIPS

Provincial Championships, for any sports, will not occur at this time and until further notice.

TOURNAMENTS

The MHSAA will not be sanctioning any tournaments, for any sports, at this time and until further notice.

INTERPROVINCIAL TOURNAMENTS

MHSAA member schools will not be sanctioned to travel to or attend out-of-province tournaments at this time and until further notice. mhsaa.ca

SPECTATORS

It is strongly recommended that school sport activities occur without spectators. However, if spectators are approved by the school division and/or principal to be present, they must comply with the maximum gathering limits and must maintain physical distancing measures.

MHSAA FALL SPORTS STATUS

A summary of the status of the MHSAA’s Fall sports, as per their most current sport specific Return to Play Protocol. Visit the links below for complete details of each sport specific

Return to Play Protocols. –

  • Football (tackle): o 50 person maximum during any activity at a field. o training and competition will only occur amongst the consistent cohort of 50 persons at school. o tackle football players may only be a part of their tackle football team cohort and must not be taking part in any other sport (including flag football), with a different cohort at the same time.

Golf: full return to play permitted, with modifications in place. – Soccer: full return to play permitted, with modifications in place. –

Cross Country: full return to play permitted, with modifications in place. –

Volleyball: indoor small group training approved; no competition permitted. –

Hockey: Beginning September 1, 2020 – on-ice skill development (non-contact), drills, team tactics, tryouts approved; no competition permitted. – Beginning October 2020 – return to competitive hockey permitted provided the completion and approval of compliance templates by MHSAA / Hockey Manitoba member leagues.

PROVINCIAL SPORT ORGANIZATION (PSO) RETURN TO PLAY PROTOCOLS

Sport specific guidelines for each of the MHSAA’s sports is available below. These links provide access to approved PSO Return to Play Protocols.

Football Manitoba: http://footballmanitoba.com/

Golf Manitoba: http://golfmb.ca/ Manitoba

Soccer Association: http://manitobasoccer.ca/

Athletics Manitoba (Cross Country and Track & Field): http://athleticsmanitoba.com/

Volleyball Manitoba: https://volleyballmanitoba.ca/

Hockey Manitoba: http://www.hockeymanitoba.ca/

Basketball Manitoba: https://www.basketballmanitoba.ca/

Curl Manitoba: https://curlmanitoba.org/

Manitoba Badminton Association: https://www.badminton.mb.ca/

Baseball Manitoba: http://www.baseballmanitoba.ca/

Softball Manitoba: http://www.softball.mb.ca/

Manitoba Organization of Disc Sports (Ultimate): https://mods.mb.ca/

Manitoba Lacrosse Association: https://manitobalacrosse.com/

Rugby Manitoba: http://rugbymb.ca/ Government of Manitoba’s Restoring

Government of Manitoba’s Restoring Safe Services – Sports Guidelines: https://www.gov.mb.ca/covid19/restoring/sports-guidelines.html

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!