OFSAA 2014 Tennis Championships

June 5, 2014 by  
Filed under Provincial and Territorial News

The 2014 OFSAA Tennis Championships will be held from Monday, June 2 to Wednesday, June 4 at the Rexall Tennis Centre, and the campus of York University. Matches will begin on Monday, June 2 by 12:00pm with play continuing all day June 3 & 4 The finals in all divisions are to be completed on Wednesday, June 4.  Over 300 high school athletes from 18 member associations will be competing in Open and High School Divisions. OFSAA Champions will be crowned in singles, doubles and mixed doubles events.  The tournament organizing committee is excited for another event which will highlight “Excellence through school sport!”.

Day 1 of the 2014 OFSAA Tennis Championships saw the rain hold off and tremendous tennis played at the Rexall Center on the campus of York University. 183 matches were completed in 10 divisions today. Over 350 athletes are compteting this year. Great talent and sportmanship was displayed throughout the day from players from across the province! Draw masters Dave and Tami Hawkins hope to have another 197 matches completed by the end of play Tuesday. Finals and medal matches are planned for Wednesday.

Convenor Michael Robinson commented:

“I am thankful that all matches were completed, and that the athletes were very appreciative of the world class facility that they had the opportunity to showcase their talents at.” “Excellence through school sport!”.

Day 2 of the OFSAA Tennis championships saw a mixed bag of weather conditions on Tuesday. The wet morning conditions forced play to be moved indoors for most of the day. Later in the day the conditions became windy but dry.  This allowed play to resume outside at the Rexall Centre.  Even with the delays 197 more matches were completed in the 10 divisions by the end of the day. Many competitive matches were played as players played to advance to the medal matches on Wednesday.

The gold and bronze medal matches will be played in all divisions on Wednesday. Play will start at 9 am with the gold and bronze matches being played at 11 am and 12 pm in all 10 divisions. All final day matches will be played at the Rexall Centre.

Complete results and schedule can be found on the championship website:

Comments are closed.