PEISAA 2023 Award Winners Announced

The PEISAA has announced Wayne Denman as the 2023 Garth Turtle Merit Award recipient. Wayne has been Intermediate and Senior Golf Commissioner for 20 years. Many of those years were spent as Co-Commissioner with Garth Turtle. Congratulations Wayne!

The PEISAA is pleased to announce Alice Champion as the winner of the 2023 Coaches Award! She has coached the Rural AAA Women’s Volleyball team the past 4 seasons, which included 2 Provincial titles, and before that the Colonel Gray Men’s team.

Alice moved to PEI to play volleyball for the Holland College Hurricanes.  When her playing career was complete, it was a natural progression for Alice to step into the coaching ranks.  
Her efforts into creative practices and skill development, the sportsmanship she displays and role models for her student athletes make her a very worthy recipient.
This is what one of her student athlete’s had to say “Alice has always been a committed coach, and she puts an incredible amount of time and energy into us and our team. Her coaching philosophy is that of fairness, compassion, competition and the development of each individual. Outside of the court she cares about her players and wants to see them succeed in a volleyball career and in their lives.”
Congratulations Alice! 

The PEISAA announced Avery Kerwin of Three Oaks is the winner of the inaugural “Brodie McCarthy Student Athlete of the Year” award. David and Lisa McCarthy made the presentation on Thursday evening at the Three Oaks Graduation. The award includes a $500 scholarship.

High schools were able to nominate 1 Grade 12 student for consideration of this award.  Criteria included academics, participation in PEISAA sanctioned sports, involvement in other activities within their school and community and sportsmanship.  The PEISAA received nominations from 11 high schools and all were outstanding candidates.  We would like to thank David and Lisa for their participation on the selection committee, with one member of the PEISAA for this very difficult decision.  We would like to recognize all the nominees for being selected to represent their school for this prestigious award:
Amelia Murphy – Kensington
Julia Smith – Colonel Gray
Brooke Walsh – Chaarlottetown Rural
MacKenzie Cutcliffe – Kinkora
Lydia Enman – Ecole Sur Mer
Skye MacNeill – Montague
Natalie Mowat – Immanuel Christian
Anna Harris – Souris
Cyriah Richard – Westisle
Elsie Taweel – Bluefield
Congratulations to all nominees on representing their school and all student athletes!

Comments are closed.