YSAA Announces 2019 Ben Sheardown Award for Coaching Excellence

August 23, 2019 by  
Filed under Provincial and Territorial News


  2019 Award winner  Heather Boardman and YSAA Executive Peter Grundmanis

Ben Sheardown Award Recipients

The Ben Sheardown Award for Coaching Excellence can be awarded annually to an individual who has been involved in coaching Yukon Schools Athletic Association teams. A selection committee comprised of: a representative of the Yukon Schools’ Athletic Association, the Yukon Teachers’ Association and the Department of Education may select one coach annually.

• Coaching experience associated with community athletic teams will not be a determining factor in the recipient of this award.

• Equal consideration will be given to those coaches who have coached a variety of sports as well as those who have dedicated themselves to a particular sport.

• All unsuccessful nominations may remain active for future nomination periods.

• A past award winner is not eligible for a second award

• Each nomination should have at least one sponsor. Self-nominations will not be considered

• The Selection Committee may decide not to grant the award in a year in which there are no nominations or if nominees do not meet the selection criteria.

Presented by: Yukon Schools’ Athletic Association, Yukon Department of Education and Yukon Teachers’ Association

Click here for the list of past recipients

Comments are closed.