BCSS Announces 2024 Award Winners

May 2, 2024 by  
Filed under Provincial and Territorial News

BCSS Announces 2024 Award Winners

Burnaby, BC – BC School Sports is pleased to announce the 2024 BCSS Award winners recognizing individuals who have demonstrated exceptional commitment and dedication to fostering student-athletes in their pursuit of sport excellence.

These awards aim to honour those whose tireless efforts behind the scenes contribute significantly to the growth, development, and success of student-athletes, both onand off the field of play.

BCSS Executive Director, Jordan Abney said “It is such a privilege to celebrate these incredible individuals. They have dedicated so much to supporting school sports and changing the lives of hundreds, if not thousands of student-athletes. They are truly the very best of the school sport community.”

The Awards Ceremony will take place on May 10th in Kelowna, where recipients will be honoured for their exceptional contributions. BC School Sports extends its congratulations to all the 2024 award winners who have played a part in supporting student-athletes on their journey.

The Honour Award is the highest form of distinction BCSS can bestow upon an individual. This award is presented to an individual in recognition of a lifetime of service to school sports. The recipient is an individual who has demonstrated prolonged and distinguished service to BC School Sports, their zone, local association, and school. This person has made a significant difference to BCSS and the impact it
has on the lives of student-athletes and our member schools.

Honour Award:
Paul Thiessen (Okanagan Mission Secondary, Kelowna, BC)

The Women in Sport & Leadership Award is to recognize the service and leadership of women in school sports. The recipient is a role model to colleagues and student athletes alike. The recipient has made a tangible impact on school sport and has demonstrated commitment to their student-athletes, their school, and their sport.

Women in Sport & Leadership:
Breanne Quist (Nanaimo Christian School)

The Media Person of the Year recognizes an individual in the media who has highlighted and celebrated school sport in their reporting. The nominee has continued to bring attention to BCSS, its member schools and student-athletes by showcasing the very best of school sport in BC. The recipient may be employed by traditional media outlets, but those who use blogs, social media, podcasts, or other
emerging platforms to consistently promote school sports may be considered.

Media Person of the Year Award:
Mark Booth (Delta Optimist)

The Inspirational School recognizes a school whose special commitment to improving the lives of student-athletes and staff through leadership and public service. This school has contributed significantly to the welfare of school athletics and the local community.

Inspirational School:
Sullivan Heights Secondary (Surrey, BC)

The Citation of Excellence in Coaching recognizes outstanding coaches and their distinguished contributions to their sport and athletes. The recipient of this award guides student-athletes to success through the philosophy of fair play and sportsmanship for a sustained period, while displaying values consistent with BCSS and school sport.

Citation of Excellence Award – Coach

  • Al Carmichael (Oak Bay Secondary)
  • Shon Ryan (Claremont Secondary)
  • Rob Gunning (Penticton Secondary)
  • Adele Renzullo (St. Patrick Regional Secondary)

The Citation of Excellence Award in Administration recognizes the invaluable contributions from administrators to school sport. The recipient has shown demonstrable leadership and sustainable support to athletic programs, athletic directors and coaches while contributing to the promotion and enhancement of athletic programs and the student-athlete experience at the school and/or district

Citation of Excellence Award – Administrator
Mike Finch (Sentinel Secondary)

The Citation of Excellence Award in Officiating recognizes outstanding individuals and their distinguished contributions to the officiating of school sport. The recipient of this award has demonstrated outstanding commitment to school sport, being recognized as a quality official, while displaying the values of BCSS and fair play.

Citation of Excellence Award – Official

  • Wayne Steele (Football)
  • John Mill (Basketball)

The Citation of Excellence as an Athletic Director recognizes the outstanding individuals for excellence as an athletic director and the hard work and dedication shown to improve the student-athlete experience, enhance the school’s athletic program, and build the school community at large. The Athletic Director leads by example and consistently demonstrates the values of their school and BC School Sports while finding new creative ways to support their coaches and student-athletes.

Citation of Excellence Award – Athletic Director

  • Corey Yamaoka (South Kamloops Secondary)
  • Rhonda Trunkfield (Terry Fox Secondary)

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!